Finding a Parking Space – The Witch’s way

I used to hope I could find somewhere to park. I was often disappointed. Then I tried trusting that I would find somewhere to park, which usually worked although I might have to walk further than I wanted to at times. And it might be on a curve, or a tight fit for getting a pushchair out of the boot. But now I have a better way. I simply ask for a space.

To do this I access the same state of mind I use when dowsing, a sort of light-meditation, functional but not interfering in any way with my awareness of my surroundings. Given I am usually driving at the time this can be important! (So too can be choosing a quiet moment.) Then I frame my request something like: “An it harm none, please find me a suitable parking space. As is my will, so mote it be. Thank you.” The first part allows Spirit to make the best possible choice for everyone, while leaving my request unspecific. Adding the second sentence, and the gratitude in advance, I know it will happen – I can then let go and see what unfolds.

What has been interesting to me is the range of parking spaces that have become available to me using this method. Places I might not ordinarily have thought of parking but where one car has shown me a new option at right angles to the road in a natural layby, or by a disused lot. I have also found that all spaces have been really easy to get in and out of, a rare thing given my previous experiences, and have been on the right side of the road for getting M in and out of her seat. Once I even parked a hundred yards from where I normally do, so used a different footpath to join the river path, and then found my normal footpath was temporarily closed off.

So I am now left wondering does this work because I have invested greater trust in finding a space, taken out any specifics of what I think I need, and am therefore open to seeing the unexpected; or because I have accepted my spiritual nature and asked for help, thus opening new opportunities?

Leave a Reply

