Birthdays

I am proud to be another “year” older this week, and realised as I approached the day that I wanted to mark it as a passing rite in my life, the same as I might mark any sabbat in the wheel of the year. It is equally important, even if only on an individual level, as a celebration of my life. Of being alive. On this day forty two years ago, my mother gave birth to me and brought me into this world. I was not due on this day, events didn’t go as she would have planned, yet it was the day I needed to be born on to make everything come right for me in this life. The bigger plan prevailed as it so often does.

I used to forget how old I was; age seemed unimportant once in my twenties. But since ‘restarting’ my life anew, getting a second chance to do things differently, every year since I turned forty has seemed special. I am increasingly perplexed, however, about the notion that time passes quicker as you get older. Thank goodness this is not my experience, as I have so many things I want to be doing! I won’t say I love every minute of every day, yet, but I do try to live every minute.

Forty two is in numerological terms four magnified up an octave, plus two. Four is the number of stability, of home building, of organisation and connecting with Earth. This seems to be a theme running through my forties so far, with starting a new family and trying to get our house fully usable by completing building projects started some years ago. Two is the number of partnerships, of duality, and of diplomacy which I seem finally to be learning. Combined, four and two make a six, the number of love. I have learned a huge amount over the past year about what unconditional love means, and how to practice it, and have noticed an increase in the love that I am able to give and that surrounds me. To have even more of this over the next year is something I really look forward to.

I thought this was sufficient basis for celebrating, but was reminded through a rather wonderful birthday card of the other reason 42 is important – it is if course the answer to the meaning of Life, the Universe and Everything. (Douglas Adams, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.) So with a vow to myself to spend more time journeying over the next year, I am left wondering where this may lead me!

'42' birthday card The answer to Life, the Universe and Everything... (Inscription removed.)

’42’ birthday card
The answer to Life, the Universe and Everything…
(Inscription removed.)

Leave a Reply

