Tree Quilt Triptych – Part 1

Winter quiltLast autumn I was inspired by the colours of the leaves beneath some maple and cherry trees to design a seasonal wallhanging, bringing their vibrant energies into my home. The project quickly grew, as creative ideas can, before settling back to something manageable… I hope!

I spent some time exploring traditional quilt patterns and coming up with a plan for three quilts that will be displayed in rotation, but that could potentially hang side by side. (Unlikely in this house!) Autumn would be the leaf colours I had seen, done in an irregular Maple Leaf pattern. Winter would be the colours of bark and dead leaves, silver birch and catkins using a very square design, while Summer would be the dappled greens of grass under oak or other deciduous trees.

By the time I had completed my designs the seasons had moved on, and to be honest Autumn looked so challenging that I wasn’t sure how to put it together. So I started last December with Winter (shown above), an irregular Pandora’s Box design that I hoped I could manage with a crawling or cruising M tugging at whatever part of me or my sewing machine she could reach. As it happened the only time she had to be banished from the room was when I lay all the pieces on the floor, there being no other space large enough for them, but apart from that I discovered various new ways of working and concentrating to be able to stay in the now, focussing on the fabric but also stopping whenever she needed me. She was present for all except about half an hour… and mostly seemed to enjoy watching it come together. Machine sewing is great that way!

I particularly enjoyed my first ever free motion quilting, doing a very organic design and just being guided by intuition as to where to go as the design grew. I haven’t yet seen another quilt with the same shapes as this one, roots and spirals combined. Little hands pressing foot pedals or pulling at fabric added the odd bit of character! However, while I am happy with the overall effect and like the way the pattern helps bring harmony, I was sorry to loose a bit of the detail in the fabric by quilting over the top. As a result I may quilt the others differently.

It has also achieved my second aim, to shift the energies in a positive direction in our hallway, the centre of our home, most of which for various complicated reasons (including the plaster falling off one wall) remains the cold turquoise blue that was there when we moved in. I love seeing the quilt when the sun falls on it at lunchtime and brings out the gold colours, showing how much beauty there is in browns.

This week I have bought the supplies for Summer. Given that Winter took a month to cut and piece, and another month to quilt, bind and hang, I might just get it done in time for the change of seasons. (Or I might not if the leaves all continue to come early…) Part 2 will follow in a few months time.

Leave a Reply

